About Henan

Henan Province is located on the southern lower reaches of the Huanghe River (Yellow River). It served as the capital of 200 empires during its history of more than 20 dynasties, leaving behind over 1.3 million relics. Henan Province has seven state-level historical and cultural cities, and Luoyang, Kaifeng, and Anyang are among China's Seven Ancient Capitals.

Henan Province lies in the middle and lower reaches of the Yellow River. It covers an area of over 167,000 square kilometres and has a population of 98.20 million (2006), consisting of the nationalities of Han, Hui, Mongolian and Manchu. Zhengzhou is the capital city of Henan Province.

This province has a temperate climate with distinctive four seasons. The climate changes are fairly accurately represented by the twenty-four solar terms on the Chinese lunar calendar...


The education system in Henan, as elsewhere in China, can be simply summarized as "four educations" and "7 levels". The "four educations" refers to pre-school education, primary education, secondary education and higher education. The "7 levels" refers to kindergarten, primary school, junior high school, senior high school, higher college education, undergraduate education and postgraduate education.

Henanembodies many famous universities, institutes and academies, including Henan University, Zhengzhou University, Henan Normal University, Henan University of Science and Technology and so forth.

Henan University

Henan University is located in Kaifeng, a famous historic city which used to be the capital of China during seven different dynasties. Imperial examinations were held in this place 100 years ago; the last two imperial examinations held here in 1903 and 1904 marked the end of the thousand-year-long imperial examination system. At the beginning of the 20th century, under the influence of Western culture and the impact of the Revolution of 1911, Lin Boxiang and a group of people with lofty ideals came to Kaifeng and founded the Preparatory School for Further Study in Europe and America, then one of the three major schools to prepare students for overseas study. It was later renamed Zhongzhou University, No.5 National Zhongshan University and Provincial Henan University. In 1942 its name was changed to National Henan University and it had developed into an influential comprehensive university with 6 schools, namely, the School of Liberal Arts, School of Science, School of Agriculture, School of Engineering, School of Medicine and the Law School. As one of the National Universities then, Henan University was proud of its brilliant academic strength and was famous both at home and abroad. After the founding of the People's Republic of China, due to the nationwide reorganization of colleges and departments, the School of Agriculture, the School of Medicine and the School of Administration separated from Henan University and became Henan College of Agriculture, Henan College of Medicine and Henan Administrative Institute of Politics and Law. The schools of water conservancy, finance and economics and others were transferred to Wuhan University, Zhongnan University of Economics and Law as well as to other universities. Henan University was renamed Henan Normal College, Kaifeng Normal College and Henan Normal University. The name Henan University was restored in 1984. In 2000, Henan University merged with Kaifeng Normal College and Kaifeng Medicine College to become the new Henan University. On October 17th, 2008, the Henan provincial Government and the Ministry of Education signed an agreement to jointly support the future development of Henan University therefore allowing Henan University to formally enter the list of the universities which are jointly developed by the provincial government and the ministry.




Why study in Zhengzhou, capital of Henan province?

Zhengzhou lies in the central part of China and on the southern bank of the Yellow River. It is the capital of the most populous province Henan, and one of the Eight Great Ancient Capitals of China. With 9 million inhabitants, it is the second largest city in central China. Due to its strategic location in one of the most populous areas in the world (nearly 100 million people in Henan alone) and as the hub of China's railway, road and aviation transport networks, Zhengzhou is increasingly attracting domestic and international investment as well as migrants from other areas, transforming the city into one of the largest economic centers in China. GDP per capita of Zhengzhou was about US$ 10,000 in 2012. Greater Zhengzhou was named as one of the 13 emerging megacities in 2012.

As an ancient Chinese capital and a traditional trading center, Zhengzhou maintains abundant cultural heritages that reflect its glorious history as well as the culture of ancient China. The best known tourist attraction is the Shaolin Temple, which is not only known as an important Buddhist shrines, but also as the center of Chinese Kung-fu.

Zhengzhou experiences a monsoon-influenced, four-season humid subtropical climate, with cold, dry winters and hot, humid summers. Spring and autumn are dry and somewhat abbreviated transition periods. Diversified weather brings rich and beautiful landscapes and the abundance of wildlife.

Who can accompany you?

Foreign spouses and children under 18 years age of international students, parents or overseas guardians of international students under the age of 18 can apply for valid L visas with a validity period of six months or one year of zero, once, twice or multiple entries. The application times are not limited, but the valid term of the visa being applied for shall not exceed the valid term of the international student's visa or that of the residence permit.

In general, only after an international student has gone through all the formalities in accordance with the requirements in this section, visa for the person that will accompany the international student to study can be handled.

Main Authorities

Welcome to join us

Offical Wechat
Mobile platform